The Electroacoustic Music Store

Artists Andrew Lewis

Andrew Lewis read music at the University of Birmingham (UK) between 1981 and ’84, and subsequently studied composition there with Jonty Harrison, completing a doctorate in 1991. He was one of the original members of BEAST, and throughout the 1980s and early ’90s worked with them on many electroacoustic concerts and events.

His output is predominantly acousmatic music, but he also composes for conventional forces (chamber, vocal, orchestral) with or without electronics. His music has won several prizes, awards and mentions: PRS (UK), Euphonie d’or (Bourges, France), Prix Ars Electronica (Linz, Austria), Stockholm Electronic Arts Award (Sweden), Hungarian Radio, British Arts Council Bursary, Noroit (France), ARTS XXI (Valencia, Spain), CIMESP (São Paulo, Brazil).

He is Professor of Music at Bangor University (Wales, UK), where he heads composition studies and directs the work of the Electroacoustic Music Studios. He also directs Electroacoustic Wales, which acts as a focus for the creation and dissemination of electroacoustic music throughout Wales.


Andrew Lewis

Sutton in Ashfield (England, UK), 1963

Residence: Bangor (Wales, UK)

  • Composer
  • Journalist

On the Web

Andrew Lewis (self-portrait), photo: Andrew Lewis, New York City (New York, USA), April 2013

Selected Works

Main Releases

empreintes DIGITALes / IMED 13125 / 2013
empreintes DIGITALes / IMED 0789 / 2007


empreintes DIGITALes / IMED 0898 / 2008
Various artists


Innova Recordings / INNOVA 874 / 2013
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
Studio PANaroma / SPAN 199017216 / 2004
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
Sargasso / SCD 28046 / 2002
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
Mnémosyne musique média / LDC 278049-50 / 1989
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
Mnémosyne musique média / LDC 278053-54 /
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
Mnémosyne musique média / LDC 278063-64 /
  • Not in catalogue

In the Press

Bangor New Music Festival

Rian Evans, The Guardian, Monday, March 29, 2010

Bangor New Music festival, held under the auspices of the university’s School of Music, celebrated its 10th anniversary with its most ambitious programme to date, and no concert signalled the event’s energy and range better than the one given by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and featuring three firsts.

The school boasts three notable composers – Pwyll ap Siôn, Andrew Lewis and Guto Puw – and works by them made up the challenging first half.

Ap Siôn’s Gwales, dating from 1995, pays homage to the late William Mathias, under whose aegis music flourished at Bangor. Building on fragments quoted from Mozart’s Requiem, the work depicts a journey towards the mythical island of Gwales.

In the first of the new pieces, Andrew Lewis also took us on a journey, this time in and out of consciousness. Number Nine Dream explored the first movement of Mahler’s Ninth Symphony through the hazy veil of the contemporary electroacoustic sound-world, making for an absorbing aural experience.

Hologram, by Guto Puw, BBCNOW’s resident composer, exists emphatically in the present, with his ascetic approach to structure balanced by a sensuous engagement with sound. It was delivered with startling clarity by the conductor Grant Llewellyn.

Wales is the spiritual home of the composer Adrian Williams, and the contemplative, questioning vein that its landscape has permitted him to articulate was reflected in his Cello Concerto, premiered here by Raphael Wallfisch. The concerto seeks to reconcile in its single long span an introverted, blues-inflected expressiveness with a freer, unselfconsciously flowing idiom. It was indicative of Williams’s instinctive ability to communicate directly that this was so warmly received by the audience.