On the Top Shelf // Did You Say “Tautology”?

If radio doesn’t appear, it means you haven’t installed the Flash plugin or that your version is too old. You must also activate Javascript.

Radio // Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Espaces tautologiques
Objects-Interiors (2013), 10m12s [excerpt]
Track 1 from Espaces tautologiques
CD: empreintes DIGITALes (2016) IMED 16140

Blog // Tuesday, September 27, 2016

  • Sep 22 - Oct 5 on electro:thèque

    Today on electro:thèque, hear a full album stream of Contes de la mémoire by Jon Appleton.

    September 22, 2016 // New Releases
  • Today…

    … is the birthday of:

    September 27, 2016 // General
  • Current & Upcoming Events

    • Festival di musica contemporanea (Until Sep 30)
    • Sight & Sound 8 (Sep 28 to Oct 2)
    • Festival Loop 8, phase 2 (Sep 29 to 30)
    • Sonorités 2016 (Sep 29 to 30)
    • Send + Receive 18 (Oct 1 to 4)
    • Visiones Sonoras 2016 (Oct 4 to 8)
    • BIMESP 2016 (Oct 5 to 16)
    • En chair et en son 2016 (Oct 6 to 8)
    • Multiphonies (Oct 7 to 9)
    September 27, 2016 // Live Events
  • Espaces tautologiques in Include Me Out

    “You don’t need a degree in audio science to appreciate the works presented here by empreintes DIGITALes and I doubt that it would help — just a set of ears (open ones) — now saying that, I remind myself of when I’d say a similar thing about Jazz in the 90s whilst trying to convince those whose taste was pretty…”

    September 26, 2016 // Press
  • Espaces tautologiques in SilenceAndSound

    “Il y a beaucoup de similitudes entre le travail du jeune canadien James O’Callaghan et celui du compositeur Bernard Parmegiani. Que ce soit dans l’art de jouer avec les collages et de leur faire raconter des histoires, où d’esquisser des mondes fantasmagoriques, où les objets prendraient vie dans un espace musical parallèle. Avec Espaces tautologiques, James O’Callaghan impressionne de par…”

    September 20, 2016 // Press
  • Voyages in Aural Aggravation

    “Sometimes, arguably at its best, music has transportative qualities, either by capturing the essence of a place, or by triggering a memory which takes the listener to another time or place. On Voyages, Jonty Harrison marries these elements together. The field recordings collaged to form Espaces cachés are eclectic, from birdsong and passing traffic to distant voices, the wash of…”

    September 15, 2016 // Press